top of page

Paul Goldschmidt Named NL Hank Aaron Award Winner

Paul Goldschmidt photo credit: Gary Vasquez/ USA Today Sports

St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Paul Goldschmidt is announced as the 2022 Hank Aaron Award winner for National League (the second time that he’s won the award.)

The Hank Aaron Award was introduced in 1999 to honor the 25th Anniversary of his breaking Babe Ruth’s all-time home run record. It is an honor that recognizes each league’s most outstanding regular season offensive player, who’s finalists are chosen by a panel of MLB writer’s and voted on by fans as well as a special panel of MLB Hall of Fame players.

This year’s panel includes: Ken Griffey Jr., Chipper Jones, Pedro Martínez, John Smoltz, Johnny Bench, Craig Biggio, Eddie Murray and Robin Yount.

"To be voted in by some of these Hall of Famers and the fans is a huge honor." said Goldschmidt.

Both AL & NL have a total of eight finalists.

Goldschmidt beat out fellow National League finalists: Austin Riley (Atlanta Braves), Mookie Betts (Los Angeles Dodgers), Freddie Freeman (Los Angeles Dodgers), Manny Machado (San Diego Padres), Pete Alonso (New York Mets), Kyle Schwarber (Philadelphia Phillies) and teammate Nolan Arenado (St. Louis Cardinals).

Paul Goldschmidt photo credit: Michael Dwyer/AP Photo

Paul Goldschmidt batted .317/.404/.578 with 41 doubles, 35 home runs and 115 RBI in 651 plate appearances for the Cardinals (151 games), was voted to his 7th All-Star game, and had a 177 wRC+ on the season.

Goldy recently won the NL Player’s Choice Award for Most Outstanding Player and is also a finalist for NL MVP.

596 views1 comment
bottom of page