top of page

Paul Goldschmidt Wins Outstanding NL Player Award

MLBPA Players Choice Awards: photo credit MLBPA

The MLB Players Association having the Players Choice Awards is one of the more rewarding honors for those nominated and those who win them. To have their peers (both teammates & opponents) vote on their thoughts, make it a special thing throughout the fraternity that is Major League Baseball.

Paul Goldschmidt photo credit: Jeff Curry/USA Today Sports

St. Louis Cardinals first baseman Paul Goldschmidt was announced as the NL Outstanding Player of the Year on Friday.

Goldschmidt had one of the best years of his career in 2022. He finished among the top three in NL MVP Award voting three times. Paul led the NL in slugging percentage (.578), OPS (.981) and OPS+(180) while smashing 35 homers and driving in 115 runs for St. Louis. He was voted an All-Star for the 7th time and after winning a total of 4 Gold Glove Awards at first base, he was again named a finalist for that award this year.

The last St. Louis Cardinal to win the NL Outstanding Player Award was Albert Pujols who won it in 2008 & 2009.

Goldschmidt, who won the 2022 award over Freddie Freeman of the Los Angeles Dodgers & Austin Riley of the Atlanta Braves told ESPN “It’s a huge honor.” “There are so many great players and such a long season. ... I’m just very thankful and excited.” To have the players vote you in, those are the players you’re competing against and competing with. That means a lot.” “I just try to go out and do my best.”

Paul Goldschmidt was also up for overall Player of the Year, and the two other Cardinals who were finalists in the Players Choice balloting were Albert Pujols for National League Comeback Player and rookie Brendan Donovan for the Outstanding Rookie.

The complete list of the 2022 winners are as follows:

Player of the Year and Outstanding American League Player: Aaron Judge, Yankees

Marvin Miller Man of the Year Award: Francisco Lindor, Mets

National League Outstanding Player: Paul Goldschmidt , Cardinals

NL Outstanding Pitcher: Sandy Alcantara , Marlins

NL Outstanding Rookie: Spencer Strider, Braves

NL Comeback Player: Ronald Acuna Jr., Braves

AL Outstanding pitcher and Comeback Player: Justin Verlander, Astros

AL Outstanding Rookie: Julio Rodriguez, Mariners

Curt Flood Award: Steve Rogers

Nolan Arenado/Paul Goldschmidt photo credit: Jeff Curry/USA Today Sports

Paul Goldschmidt & teammate Nolan Arenado will both likely be in the running for National League MVP, as the finalists for that award will be announced Monday, and the winners announced Nov. 17 by the BBWAA.

Congrats to Goldy on this award and accomplishment. In a season that had so many great players, moments & milestones, to have the players acknowledge your overall impact is quite the honor. And a well-deserved one at that.

873 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page