top of page

Rawlings Announces 4 Cardinals As Finalists For 2022 Gold Gloves

Coming off an MLB record breaking 5 Gold Glove Award winners in 2021, the St. Louis Cardinals are again well represented with 4 players being named finalists for the Gold Glove in 2022.

Last season we saw a total of 6 Cardinals nominated (CF Harrison Bader, LF Tyler O’Neill, 3B Nolan Arenado, 1B Paul Goldschmidt, 2B Tommy Edman & C Yadier Molina). All but Molina brought home the hardware.

Nolan Arenado, Paul Goldschmidt photo credit: Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire

This year the Cardinals finalists again include 3B Nolan Arenado, 1B Paul Goldschmidt & 2B Tommy Edman… as well as rookie INF Brendan Donovan. For the first time, Rawlings announced they would be adding a Utility Gold Glove (which both Donovan & Edman are finalists for.)

photo via @RawlingsSports (Twitter)

Nolan Arenado is a 9 x Gold Glove winner and will be up against Ke’Bryan Hayes of the Pittsburgh Pirates & Ryan McMahon of the Colorado Rockies. If Arenado wins his 10th straight, he’ll tie Hall of Famer Mike Schmidt of the Philadelphia Phillies for second most all time at 3B behind only Hall of Famer Brooks Robinson of the Baltimore Orioles with an amazing 16.

photo via @RawlingsSports (Twitter)

Paul Goldschmidt is a 4 x Gold Glove winner and will be up against Matt Olson of the Atlanta Braves & Christian Walker of the Arizona Diamondbacks. If Goldschmidt can hold off 2 x winner Olson & Walker (who led all MLB 1B in Outs Above Avg. [via Statcast]) he would become only the ninth first baseman to have at least 5 Gold Gloves. Hall of Famer & Cardinals HOFer Keith Hernandez leads that list with 11.

photo via @RawlingsSports (Twitter)

Tommy Edman is a 1 x Gold Glove winner and will be up against Jake Cronenworth of the San Diego Padres & Brendan Rodgers of the Colorado Rockies.

photo credit: @RawlingsSports (Twitter)

While Edman, and first time finalist Brendan Donovan go up against the Arizona Diamondbacks’ Daulton Varsho for the Utility Gold Glove.

The competition is a little tougher this season as the Cardinals nominees face some elite NL defenders, but all of them are well deserving of the honor.

photo via

Overall, the St. Louis Cardinals lead the entire MLB with 51 Gold Glove Awards since the inception of the awards in 1957. It speaks highly of how much value the organization puts on defense, and the great talent that have represented the team during that time. This class is no different. Good luck to our Cardinals finalists, and congrats on amazing seasons in the field.

3,331 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page